Error message when saving files in SDL Trados Studio: Could not find file (...) / Failed to save target content
000008439|12/9/2021 11:27 PM
Trados Studio 2014, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2021
The following errors may occur in SDL Trados Studio:
When you try to save a bilingual file you have been working on: Failed to save bilingual as:Could not find file C:\...\Local\TEMP\[FILE_NAME]
When clicking the Save Target As... button: Failed to save target content: Unable to locate original file: Please copy the original file into the directory above and try again.
NEVER delete any temporary files while a file is open for translation in SDL Trados Studio (or any other program running on your machine).
If files have been manually deleted, try to restore them from the Recycle Bin. If they have been deleted by your Antivirus application, try to restore the files using the Antivirus application, and modify your antivirus setting so that your TEMP folder is not emptied automatically.
If you cannot restore the TEMP file(s) any more and you have lost your bilingual file, the only workaround is to pre-translate your original source file(s) again with the translation memory you have been using.
In SDL Trados Studio the AutoSave function makes sure you do not lose your work in case Studio closes before you save your files. This can happen, for example, if your computer crashes or if the power goes out. You can configure the AutoSave interval (default is set to every ten minutes) and the location of the AutoSave documents:
Click File > Options > Editor.
Make sure the Enable AutoSave box is selected.
Specify how often you want Studio to automatically save your pending changes in the AutoSave every x minutes box.
In the Projects view, right-click on your selected project and choose Project Settings.
Check the Location field on the Project page.
Click Browse if you want to change this location.
When a file is opened for translation in SDL Trados Studio, the application creates temporary files in the TEMP folder of your operating system. these files are needed during file processing and saving. If these files are deleted, the errors above are displayed and Studio will not be able to save the bilingual file or create the target document.