Salesforce

How to modify or set up new Support Contacts in your SDL Account

« Go Back
Information
How to modify or set up new Support Contacts in your SDL Account
000001813
This article provides information on how to add or edit a support contact in an existing SDL Account
SDL Account
User Management
You (or your company) have a valid Support and Maintenance Agreement (PSMA) with SDL and you would like to set up a new contact, or amend an existing contact for your My SDL Account and the SDL Support Portal.
NOTE: Every SDL Account has one or more administrators. You need to be an administrator on the account to be able to make changes to other users than yourself. You can check who are your administrators via Account Details in your SDL Account.

NOTE: Every user that is added as a Support User has to be named, an actual person. It can not be an email distribution list. If you wish to add an email distribution list to support case communications, you can do so by adding that email to the "Additional Email" field when logging a new case or afterwards by following the steps in this KB article.

This article addresses the following 4 actions:

  • Adding a new user to your SDL Account
  • Modifying users in your SDL Account
  • Removing users from your SDL Account
  • Deleting Deactivated Users from your SDL Account

Adding a new user to your SDL Account

 

User-added image
 

  • Scroll down to the section Add an additional contact and fill in the details for your new contact.
  • The fields marked with an asterisk * are required.
  • When done click on the Create Contact button:

User-added image

User-added image
 

  • You will see the message The contact was created successfully in green, and the new contact is set as Active in your account.


    User-added image
     

  • Once the new contact is added, this person will receive an automated email from SDL with a link to login. Check the spam folder if you do not see the email in your inbox.
 

User-added image
 

  • After clicking the link and logging in, the user will be directed to complete their registration and accept the Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions via the form below.
 

User-added image
 

 

Modifying users in your SDL Account

  • All users who need access to the SDL Support Portal have to be provided access.​
    • There are two options:
  • If you want the user to have access to Quotes, Orders, Downloads, Licenses, Training and Support select the option Support User

 

User-added image
 

  • If you want to restrict the rights of the user to only have access to support and not see the other options such as Quotes, Orders, Downloads, Licenses and Training, select the option Access Support Only

    User-added image
     

  • To change the contact details of one of your users, click on the link in the Name column to open the Contact Details page for that user.
  • ​ Make the required changes and click Save Changes when you are ready:

User-added image

User-added image
 

Removing users from your SDL Account

  • All users who have been added to your account are retained in the system history because they could have had some action associated with them in the past.
  • ​This includes users who are not set to Active and are greyed out shown in the user table.
  • However, only users who are set to Active have access to the SDL Account:
 

Deleting Deactivated Users from your SDL Account

  • Former users who are deactivated are still in view by the account Administrator and currently can only be deleted by SDL Admins.
  • If desired, to remove these users from view open a customer support  ticket requesting the deletion of the deactivated users by providing the Account name along with the deactivated user name(s) to be deleted.
  • Should these now deleted users need to come back to an active status in the future, open a new support request with the information as the users are still in the database and can be brought back to an active state.
If you attempt to select more than the number of Support Users allowed by your type of Support Contract, the system will inform you how many users you are allowed to select. If you would like to add more Support Users, refer to our SDL Support website for contact details.
Attachments
 
 
 
 
 

Powered by